Iowa Hawkeyes men’s basketball

The Iowa Hawkeyes men’s basketball team represents the University of Iowa at Iowa City, Iowa, as a Part of the Big Ten Conference and the National Collegiate Athletic Association.

Coach Fran McCaffery was since 2010 at Iowa, and is the present head coach.
The Hawkeyes have played in 26 NCAA Tournaments, eight NIT Tournaments, won eight Big Ten regular-season conference championships and won the Big Ten championship. Iowa has played in the Final Four on three occasions, reaching the semifinals at 1955 and 1980 and playing in the championship game against the University of San Francisco in 1956.
Iowa basketball was widely successful in the 1970s, 1980s, and 1990s with a schedule resurgence under Lute Olson and the tenures of both George Raveling and Tom Davis. Beneath Olson, the Hawkeyes moved into the 1980 Final Four and won their last regular season championship.
They play in 15,400-seat Carver-Hawkeye Arena, together with Iowa women’s wrestling, basketball, and volleyball clubs.
Before playing Carver-Hawkeye Arena, which opened in 1983,[6] the Hawkeyes played in the Iowa Armory and the Iowa Field House, which is still used today by the school’s gymnastics teams. Before dropping to in-state rival Northern Iowa in 2006, the Hawkeyes gathered a school-record 21 consecutive wins at home.
Four Iowa coaches have been inducted into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame: Sam Barry, Ralph Miller, Lute Olson and George Raveling.

Read more here:

Comments are closed.